21 May 2024

Deputy Prime Minister Somkid Jatusripitak and his team of three Cabinet members formally submitted their resignations this morning, paving the way for a long-anticipated Cabinet reshuffle by Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha.


The three other Cabinet members are Finance Minister Uttama Savanayana, Energy Minister Sontirat Sontijirawong and Higher Education, Science and Innovations Minister Suvit Maesincee. Also resigning is deputy secretary-general of the Prime Minister’s Office Kobsak Pootrakul.

The four announced their resignations at a press conference at the Governmnent House.  Uttama said their resignations have immediate effect.

“We want to help the country move forward, to dispel political uncertainty, and to relieve pressure on the prime minister,” said Uttama when asked for reasons for their decision to quit.

“The country’s current situation requires all available energy and attention to deal with the issues at hand.  We don’t want politics to be an obstacle,” said Sontiraj.