Democrat party withdraws Abhisit’s candidature for chair of House panel studying charter changes : Facebook Abhisit Vejjajiva

The Democrat party has decided to drop the candidature of former party leader Abhisit Vejjajiva, for the chairmanship’s post of the House committee studying constitutional amendments, because of the uncertainty of success.

The party’s chief whip, Mr. Chinnaworn Bunyakiat, said that the party would need support from the other coalition parties for Mr. Abhisit to be elected, and it was not sure that such support would be forthcoming.

Members of the House committee elect its chairman.

The Democrat party has chosen four members to sit on the House committee, namely Banyat Banthadtan, Suthat Ngernmuen, both party-list MPs, deputy leader Nipit Intharasombat and constituency MP Thepthai Senpong.

Deputy Prime Minister Prawit Wongsuwan, and chief strategist of the Palang Pracharat party, the main coalition party, today dismissed the suggestion that the party did not support Abhisit’s candidacy because it already has its own candidate, adding that this is a matter for the committee, which has nothing directly to do with the Government or his party.

The Government has named six representatives to sit on the House committee.  They are Pakorn Nilpraphan, Udom Rath-amarit, Wutthisarn Tanchai, Paiboon Nititawan, Krit Ua-wong and Khunying Natthika Watanawekin Aung-ubon.

It was reported that the Government might nominate Mr. Paiboon as candidate for the chair.


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password