23 May 2024

Bangkok Metropolitan Administration (BMA) is opening 15 public venues, including parks and sport centres, for candidates running in the forthcoming Bangkok gubernatorial election to stage their election campaign rallies, said BMA Permanent Secretary Khachit Chatchavanich today (Wednesday).

He said that candidates must apply in writing for permission from the permanent secretary to use any of the venues at least three days in advance of the event and must meet the safety requirements for the prevention of the spread of COVID-19.

The candidates must arrange for their own equipment, accessories and stage for the rally, as the city administration will only provide the venue, said Khachit, adding that applications are now open.

The 15 venues are:

  • The Lan Khon Mueang ground in front of the City Hall
  • Chatuchak Park
  • Queen Sirikit Park in Chatuchak district
  • The Wachirabenchatat or Rod Fai Park
  • Lumpini Park
  • Benchasiri Park in Klong Toey district
  • King Taksin the Great Monument in Thon Buri district
  • The Rama VIII memorial Park in Bang Phlat district
  • The Rama IX bridge youth centre in Rat Burana district
  • The Ramintra Sports Park in Bang Khen district
  • Seri Thai Park in Bueng Kum district
  • Phra Nakhon Park in Lat Krabang district
  • Health Park in Prawet district
  • Bangmod sports centre in Thung Khru district
  • The park in front of The Mall Bang Khae

Most candidates running in the election have so far been campaigning by visiting communities, to hear their problems or grievances, or by joining panel discussions to explain their policies. They are, however, yet to deliver speeches in a public arena, which are a highlight of election campaigns.

31 candidates have registered to contest the race, which is the largest number since gubernatorial elections have been held in Bangkok.

One candidate, Kraidaj Bunnag, was disqualified during the screening process, after he was found to be the owner, publisher and editor of an entertainment newspaper, which is against the election law.