15 provinces warned of flash floods, landslides

The Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Department has issued a warning for 15 provinces, five each in the North, Central and South, to beware of flash floods and landslides, department chief Chayapol Thitisak said this morning.

Mr Chayapol said continuous intensive rains and accumulated rainwater make these provinces vulnerable to being hit with flash floods and landslides.
The 15 provinces are Mae Hong Son, Chiang Rai, Nan, Tak and Phetchabun in the North; Kanchanaburi, Sa Kaeo, Rayong, Chanthaburi and Trat in the Central; and, Ranong, Phangnga, Krbi, Trang and Satun in the South.
He said disaster prevention and mitigation offices of these provinces have been instructed to be fully prepared for potential disasters, particularly in areas with slopes and high mountains prone to landslides. Areas with accumulated rain water of over 80 millimetres in 24 hours must be closely watched.
The offices have to put their rapid-deployment units with necessary equipment on standby for action, he added.


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password