10 billionaires to the poorest among Thailand’s 500 MPs

There are 10 rich MPs, who have over one billion baht in assets each, while the poorest MP has 5,064 baht in his bank account, according to reports from the Office of the National Anti-Corruption Commission.

Of the 10 billionaire MPs, Mrs. Nathee Ratchakitprakarn, a party-list MP of the Bhumjaithai Party, the spouse of Tourism and Sports Minister Pipat, is the richest, with declared assets worth about 4.675 billion baht.

The other nine billionaire MPs are:

Mr. Anutin Charnvirakul Bhumjaithai party leader, deputy prime minister and public health minister, 4.249 billion baht (his assets include two planes, two motor boats, 24 Buddha images worth 121 million baht and 395 million baht in bank deposits)

Bhumjaithai MP for Satun province, Mr. Piboon Ratchakitprakarn, 2.342 billion baht

Mr. Suriya Juangroongruangkit, industry minister and Palang Pracharat MP, 2.198 billion baht

Mr. Apichaiubon, Democrat party-list MP, 2.048 billion baht

Mr. Nataphol Teepsuwan, Palang Pracharat party-list MP and education minister, 1.985 billion baht

Khunying Kalaya Sophonpanich, deputy education minister and Democrat party-list MP, 1.785 billion baht

Ms. Supamat Issarapakdi, Bhumjaithai party-list MP, 1.609 billion baht

Mr. Kittisak Khanasawat, Pheu Thai MP for Maha Sarakham, 1.529 billion baht

Democrat party-list MP Korn Chatikavanich, 1.097 billion baht

PM’s Office Minister and Chart Pattana party-list MP Tewan Liptapallop, 1.03 billion baht.

House Speaker Chuan Leekpai has assets worth about 8 million baht.

Of the 500 MPs, it appears that Mr. Phisanu Polatee, Bhumjaithai MP for Pathum Thani province, has the least assets. There is only 5,064 baht in his bank account.

Earlier, he reported to have earned 14,000 baht a month from the Provincial Administration Organization. His earnings as an MP since May totaled 829,700 baht. He said he is living in the house of his mother and the car that he has been driving belongs to a friend.

Several other MPs have not yet declared their assets to the NACC’s Office. They include Future Forward party leader Thanathorn Juangroongruangkit and Future Forward MPs Pannika Wanich and Pitha Limcharonrat.



Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password