Thailand’s Progressive Movement wins 38 mayoral seats in Sunday’s sub-district elections

Photo from Facebook page “Thanathorn Juangroongruangkit – ธนาธร จึงรุ่งเรืองกิจ”

Progressive Movement leader Thanathorn Juangroongruangkit said today (Monday), that he is pleased and proud with the movement’s achievement in the Sub-district (Tambon) Administrative Organization (TAO) elections on Sunday, which saw them win 38 mayoral seats out of 196 candidates from the movement contesting the poll, or 19.4%.

He said that the average age of the movement’s winners is 53, with the youngest being 35 and three are women, adding that the movement will support more women’s participation in politics. 23 of the newly-elected mayors are veteran politicians, while the rest are new faces.

The former leader of the now defunct Future Forward party, predecessor of the Move Forward party, recalled that, in the last general election over two years ago, the Future Forward party fielded candidates in all the country’s 350 constituencies and won in just 30, accounting for 8.6%.

In the Provincial Administrative Organization (PAO) elections about a year ago, the Progressive Movement was roundly defeated, but in the municipal elections, Thanathorn said the group fielded 106 candidates and managed to win 16 municipal mayoral seats, or 15%.

“Many people have underestimated us, but we have proven them wrong,” said Thanathorn, adding that the movement has managed to penetrate new political bases, such as Suphan Buri and Phetchabun.

He attributed the movement’s success to its policies, designed to respond to the needs of the people and to improve their quality of life.

He said the movement is also eyeing the mayor’s position in Pattaya City, adding that it will skip the Bangkok gubernatorial election next year, to avoid running against the Move Forward party’s candidate.

According to the unofficial vote count from yesterday’s TAO elections, the movement has won mayoral seats in 17 provinces, including Kalasin, Khon Kaen, Chaiyaphum, Chiang Mai, Nakhon Pathom, Nakhon Ratchasima, Nan, Bueng Karn, Phitsanulok, Phetchabun, Maha Sarakham, Roi-et, Si Sa Ket, Suphan Buri, Nong Khai, Nong Bua Lamphu and Udon Thani.


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password