Six pro-Prayut parties announce their commitment to form government

The Palang Pracharat party and its five coalition partners formally announced their commitment this afternoon to form a coalition government, with General Prayut Chan-o-cha as their prime minister.
Core members of the six parties, including Palang Pracharat party leader Uttama Savanayana, party secretary-general Sontirat Sontijirawong, Ruam Palang Prachachart Thai secretary-general Thaweesak na Takauathung, Chart Pattana advisoryvchief Suwat Liptapanlop, Palang Thongthin Thai party leader Chatchawal Kong-udom, Rak Puenpa Prathet Thai party leader Damrong Pidet and Prachachon Patiroop party leader Paiboon Nititawan, appeared before the media at the Sukosol Hotel to confirm their commitment.
Mr. Uttama told the news conference that the Palang Pracharat party had extended invitations to the three remaining parties, namely Democrat, Bhumjaithai and Chart Thai Pattana, and had held discussions with all of them regarding government formation.
“We treated all these parties with honor and give them time to settle their own problems.  We intend to form a stable government for the people,” said Mr. Uttama, adding that he hopes both the Democrat and Bhumjaithai parties would finally join the coalition.
Regarding the Democrat party’s demand for constitutional amendments, he said the issue is important and requires the joint consideration of all parties concerned. He also confirmed that the group would press ahead with its nomination of General Prayut as the next prime minister.
The Democrat party’s executive committee and MPs are due to meet this afternoon to decide whether to join the Palang Pracharat-led coalition.
Tags:  commitment, news conference, Palang Pracharat party


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password