11 July 2024

Pheu Thai party continues to bleed as another batch of its former MPs from Kamphaeng Phet flock to the pro-Prayut Palang Pracharat party.

Accompanied by Suriya Joengroongruangkit, a former MP of the Thai Rak Thai party, predecessor of the Pheu Thai, five former Pheu Thai MPs of Kamphaeng Phet, including Pai Link, Pol Lt-Col Waipote Arpornrat, Prinya Roeksarai, Anant Phol-amnuey and Surasit Wongwittayanant, were given a warm welcome at the Palang Pracharat party’s head office by party leader Uttama Savanayana and Sontirat Sontijirawong, the party secretary-general.

Suriya said the group turned their back on the Pheu Thai party because they wanted to see the country overcome the long-standing political divide.

Pai Link, meanwhile, admitted that leaving the Pheu Thai party was a difficult decision for him and he had to think very hard and consulted with his constituents before making up his mind.

He maintained that he held no grudges against the Pheu Thai party or anyone in the party.

Waipote, also a former core leader of the red-shirt movement or the United Front for Democracy against Dictatorship, said he believes the Palang Pracharat would be able to resolve political conflict and guide the country “to move forward toward the ultimate goal of bringing happiness to the people and the country.”

He insisted that even after joining the Palang Pracharat party, his stand against dictatorship remains unchanged.

It was earlier reported that former deputy finance minister Varathep Rattanakorn would show up with the group.

Later in the afternoon, another former Pheu Thai MP of Lop Buri Amnuay Klangpha joined the Palang Pracharat party.

Over 100 former MPs from different parties have already joined Palang Pracharat.  They include the Sam Mitr group led by Suriya Joengroongruangkit and Somsak Thepsuthin, the Ban Rim Nam group led by Suchart Tancharoen and the Samut Prakan Progressive group led by the Asavahame family.