Junta sets up a 17-member anti-corruption board

The National Council for Peace and Order (NCPO) has announced the formation of a 17-member National Anti-Corruption Committee to fight the scourge of corruption in government bureaucracy. 

The new anti-graft body is dominated by active and former senior military officers who make up NCPO and include members of the private sector who have been involved in campaigns against corruption.

The 17 members include NCPO chief General Prayut Chan-o-cha as the committee chariman, Deputy Prime Minister Chatchai Sarikalya, chief legal advisor of the NCPO, Army Commander-in-Chief Chalermchai Sitthisart, Navy Commander-in-Chief Admiral Naris Prathumsuwan, Air Force Commander-in-Chief ACM Chom Rungsawang, Deputy Prime Minister Somkid Jatusripitak. Mr Pramon Sutheewong, Mr Thawil Pliensri, Associate Professor Juree Vichitvadhakarn, Associate Professor Tortrakul Bunnag, Ms Walairat Sri-arun, Mr Vichai Assarasakorn, former central bank governor Mr Prasarn Trairatvorakul, Mr Prayong Priyachit, secretary-general of the Public Sector Anti-Corruption Commission and chief-of-staff of the army.

Deputy Prime Minister Prawit Wongsuwan was reportedly dropped from the committee amidst a scandal involving his possession of a large number of  luxury brandname watches which is being investigated by the National Anti-Corruption Commission.

The committee is tasked with setting guidelines and measures to strengthen the efforts to prevent and suppress corruption in government bureaucracy, to follow up and support inter-departmental cooperation in the prevention and crackdown of corruption among others.


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password