Democrat executive committee elects seven ministerial nominees

The Democrat party’s executive committee has shortlisted seven party members who are qualified to assume eight ministerial posts, allocated to the party by the Palang Pracharat party, after about three hours of debate on their qualifications.

The seven would-be cabinet members are party leader Jurin Laksanavisit, party secretary-general Chalermchai Sri-on, four deputy leaders namely Nipon Boonyamanee, Juti Krairiksh, Khunying Kalaya Sophonpanich and Satit Pitutacha and Songkhla MP Thaworn Senneam.

An informed party source said that the executive committee had not yet decided which cabinet posts each of the seven potential ministers will get.

During a heated debate, Mr. Nipit Intharasombat, a deputy leader for the southern region, asked why the quota of cabinet seats for the southern region was reduced to just two instead of three, and why the two seats were given to MPs representing Songkhla province.

Wirat Romyen, an executive committee member, asked why his name was dropped, despite the fact that he has been with the party for 22 years and was elected an MP eight times. Then he reportedly nominated himself as a candidate for a cabinet seat.

After the meeting of the executive committee, party MPs joined the meeting to discuss cabinet seats for the seven potential ministers.

The meeting was still under way at the time of this report.


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password