Bangkok Governor-elect Chadchart begins his day jogging in Lumpini Park

Chadchart Sittipunt, the winner of the 2022 Bangkok gubernatorial election, according to unofficial results which show him attracting a record-high of over 1.38 million votes, began his first day as Bangkok Governor-elect by jogging with his team in Lumpini Park at dawn this morning (Monday).

Chadchart started jogging at 5.30am, with many other fitness fans coming to take photos with him. The politician, dubbed by some as “The Hulk” for his physical fitness and dynamism, revealed that he usually runs 10 kilometres around Lumpini Park each day. He explained that jogging is part of his daily routine and it is that which inspired him to run for governor of Bangkok, aiming to improve the city after he made new friends and exchanged views with the people in the park.

Chadchart also said that he is ready to start work as the new governor by taking a look at the existing problems in each area. Asked whether flooding will be the first thing he will fix, Chadchart responded that, even though flooding is a huge problem for Bangkok, we must not forget other issues, such as pedestrian crossings and road safety.

“For the 1.3 million votes, I would like to thank all of you. They have encouraged me to move forward. I promise that I will do my best to take care of the 6 million people in Bangkok equally.”

Chadchart won the governorship with 1,386,215 votes, according to the 100% complete vote count released by the Bangkok Election Commission at 1.55am this morning, breaking the record of 1,256,349 for M.R. Sukhumbhand Paribatra in 2000. The results remain unofficial until the commission completes its verification of the entire electoral process.

The unofficial vote counts for the six runners up are:

2. Suchatvee Suwansawat (Democrat party)​ 254,647

3. Wiroj Lakkhanaadisorn (Move Forward party)​ 253,851

4. Sakoltee Phattiyakul (Independent) ​​230,454 (former deputy governor)

5. Aswin Kwanmuang (Independent) ​​214,692 (former governor)

6. Rosana Tositrakul (Independent) 78,993 (former senator)

7. Sita Divari (Thai Sang Thai party) 73,720


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password