11 July 2024

Well-known human rights advocates, a former diplomat and two members of the board of governors of Thai PBS  are among the seven people picked for the new National Human Rights Commission today.

They were chosen from 29 candidates to serve a seven-year term by a selection committee headed by Supreme Court President Cheep Chulamont.

The seven designated human rights commissioners are:  Mrs Somsri Harn-anansook, coordinator of a civil network on police reforms;  Mr Chaturong Bunyaratsunthorn, chairman of the board of PhD curriculum of Hua Chiew University; BoontaenTansuthepveerawong, secretary-general of Foundation for Human Rights and Development; Ms Pitikarn Sitthidet, director-general of Department of the Protection of Rights and Liberties of Justice Ministry; Ms Pornprapai Kanchanarin, former ambassador to the Hague; Surapong Kongchantoek, a non-governmental rural and community development advocate, and Mr Pairote Polpetch, president of ENLAW Thai Foundation. Both Surapong and Pairote are currently members of the board of governors of public broadcasting service Thai PBS,

Senate Office secretary-general Nut Phusuk said his office will submit the nominations to a vetting panel of the National Legislative Assembly for a background check on the commissioners-designate.

The process will take 45 days after which a final report will be sent to the NLA for  endorsement, said Nut.