11 July 2024

The tri-partite wage committee has rejected Prime Minister Srettha Thavisin’s request for them to reconsider their recent decision to increase the minimum wage by only Bt2-16 a day and the employers’ representative on the committee asked the government not to interfere, warning that such interference may impact the business sector. 

At the meeting on Wednesday, the wage committee agreed to reconfirm their December 8th decision to raise the minimum wage by Bt2-16 and announced that they will not review the decision.

Atthayut Leeyavanich, an employers’ representative on the committee, said that the decision is fair adding, however, that the committee will use a new formula in calculating minimum wages next year.

Labour Minister Phiphat Ratchakitprakarn, however, rejected Atthayut’s accusation of government interference, saying that the government simply made an observation that the wage rates proposed by the committee may not be reasonable. He said that the committee’s decision will be submitted to the cabinet for approval next week, so it will become effective as of January 1st, if approved.

Labour Permanent Secretary Pairoj Chotikasathien, meanwhile, said that minimum wage will be reviewed again next year.

The new minimum wages are:

  • Bt370 in Phuket.
  • Bt363 in Bangkok, Nakhon Pathom, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Samut Prakan and Samut Sakhon.
  • Bt361 in Chon Buri and Rayong.
  • Bt352 in Nakhon Ratchasima.
  • Bt351 in Samut Songkhram.
  • Bt350 in Ayutthaya, Saraburi, Chachoengsao, Prachin Buri, Khon Kaen and Chiang Mai.
  • Bt349 in Lop Buri.
  • Bt348 in Suphan Buri, Nakhon Nayok and Nong Khai.
  • Bt347 in Krabi and Trat.
  • Bt345 in Kanchanaburi, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Surat Thani, Songkhla, Phang-nga, Chanthaburi, Sa Kaeo, Nakhon Phanom, Mukdahan, Sakhon Nakhon, Buri Ram, Ubon Ratchathani, Chiang Rai, Tak and Phitsanuloke.
  • Bt344 in Phetchaburi, Chumphon and Surin.
  • Bt343 in Yasothon, Lamphun and Nakhon Sawan.
  • Bt342 in Nakhon Si Thammarat, Bueng Kan, Kalasin, Roi-et and Phetchabun.
  • Bt341 in Chainat, Sing Buri, Phatthalung, Chaiyaphum and Ang Thong.
  • Bt340 in Ranong, Satun, Loei, Nong Bua Lamphu, Udon Thani, Maha Sarakham, Si Sa Ket, Amnat Charoen, Mae Hong Son, Lampang, Sukhothai, Uttaradit, Kamphaeng Phet, Phichit, Uthai Thani and Ratchaburi.
  • Bt338 in Trang, Nan, Phayao and Phrae.
  • Bt330 in Narathiwat, Pattani and Yala.