11 July 2024

The ethics committee of Thailand’s opposition Pheu Thai party decided today (Monday) to propose to the party’s executive committee the expulsion of two rebel MPs who did not vote in line with the party’s agreement in the no confidence motion earlier this month.

Sarunvuth Sarunkate of Uttaradit province and Pornpimon Thammasarn of Pathum Thani province, for defying the party’s voting resolution after the censure debate on September 4th by abstaining from voting.

Pheu Thai party’s secretary-general Prasert Chanthararuangthong, in his capacity as chair of the ethics committee, said today that the committee also decided to place on probation three other MPs, namely Sisaket MP Thira Traisoranakul, Pathum Thani MP Chaiyan Pholsuwan and Chaturong Pengnorapat.

Prasert said that the party will decide later whether to field the three MPs in the next general election.

The ethics committee also issued a warning to Chuwit Pitakpornpallop, an MP for Ubon Ratchathani, while the seventh dissident MP, Wutthichai Kittitanesuan of Nakhon Nayok province, is yet to testify before the ethics committee.

Wutthichai missed the voting because he was undergoing treatment or COVID-19 and was in quarantine at the time.

According to the party’s regulations, three quarters of the votes of the 24 executive committee members and 134 MPs are required to expel the two rebel MPs.

Prime Minister Prayut and his five cabinet ministers survived the no-confidence vote on September 4th, with the prime minister receiving 264 votes in support and 208 against, with three abstentions.

The Pheu Thai party resolved to vote against all six ministers, including Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha. The other five were Public Health Minister Anutin Charnvirakul, Transport Minister Saksayam Chidchob, Agriculture Minister Chalermchai Sri-on, Digital Economy and Society Minister Chaiwut Thanakamanusorn and Labour Minister Suchart Chomklin.