11 July 2024

Two more parties have agreed to join the coalition, led by the Move Forward party, bringing the number of partners to ten, with a combined 316 votes in the House of Representatives.

Phicharn Chaowapatanawong, deputy leader of the Move Forward party, said today (Friday) that the Chart Pattana Kla party has agreed to join the coalition. The party won one constituency MP seat and one party-list seat.

Earlier today, the Mai (New) party, which has one party-list MP, also agreed to join the coalition.

Phicharn said that they will send the draft memorandum of understanding (MoU), to be signed by all coalition partners, to the two newcomers for review and to propose amendments, if they have any.

A formal press conference and the signing of the MOU among the ten coalition partners is scheduled for Monday, May 22nd, which is the ninth anniversary of the coup that toppled the government of then Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra.

The other eight parties are Move Forward, Pheu Thai, Prachachart, Thai Sang Thai, Thai Liberal, Fair, Palang Sangkhom Mai and Pheu Thai Ruam Palang.