11 July 2024

The appointments of three new cabinet ministers have been published in the Royal Gazette today (Wednesday).

Under Royal Command, former Government Spokesman Thanakorn Wangboonkongchana is appointed Minister of Prime Minister’s Office, Naris Khamnurak, a Democrat MP for Phatthalung Province, is the new Deputy Interior Minister and Palang Pracharath MP Sunthorn Pansaengthong is the new Deputy Agriculture Minister.

Naris succeeds Nipon Boonyamanee, of the Democrat Party, who resigned on September 5th, facing a charge of malfeasance in office for allegedly refusing to pay 51 million baht for the purchase of two multi-purpose trucks by the Songkhla Provincial Administrative Organisation back in 2013.

Sunthorn, a member of the “Paknam” faction in the government’s core Palang Pracharath party, replaces Thamanat Prompao, who was sacked, along with Deputy Labour Minister Narumon Pinyosinwat, for allegedly orchestrating an attempt to unseat Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha during a censure debate last August.

The three new ministers will be required, under the Constitution, to take an oath of allegiance before His Majesty the King before they can formally perform their duties.