11 July 2024

All the restrictive measures announced by the country’s Centre for COVID-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) on Friday, in an attempt to contain the rapid surge in COVID-19 infections in Thailand, have been published in the Royal Gazette, making them enforceable.

All 77 provinces are defined as either “maximum controlled and restricted zones”, “maximum controlled zones”, “controlled zones” or “maximum watch zones”.

The “maximum controlled and restricted zones” are Bangkok, Nakhon Pathom, Narathiwat, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Pattani, Yala, Samut Prakan, Samut Sakhon and Songkhla.

“Maximum controlled zones” are Krabi, Kanchanaburi, Chachoengsao, Chon Buri, Chainat, Tak, Nakhon Nayok, Nakhon Ratchasima, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Nakhon Sawan, Prachuap Khiri, Prachin Buri, Ayutthaya, Phetchaburi, Ranong, Rayong, Ratchaburi, Lop Buri, Samut Songkhram, Saraburi, Sing Buri, Suphan Buri, Ang Thong and Uthai Thani.

The “controlled zones” are Kalasin, Kamphaeng Phet, Khon Kaen, Chanthaburi, Chaiyaphum, Chumpon, Trang, Trat, Buri Ram, Phatthalung, Phichit, Phitsanuloke, Phetchabun, Maha Sarakham, Roi-et, Loei, Si Sa Ket, Satun, Sa Kaeo, Sukhothai, Surat Thani, Surin, Udon Thani and Ubon Ratchathani.

Provinces defined as “maximum watch zones” are Chiang Rai, Chiang Mai, Nakhon Phanom, Nan, Bung Karn, Phayao, Phang-nga, Phrae, Phuket, Muk Da Han, Mae Hong Son, Yasothon, Lampang, Lamphun, Sakhon Nakhon, Nong Khai, Amnat Charoen and Uttradit.

The restrictive measures include:

-Curfew from 9pm to 4am in Bangkok, Nakhon Pathom, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Samut Prakan, Samut Sakhon and four southern provinces of Yala, Pattani, Narathiwat and Songkhla.

-Exempt from the curfew are those in need of medical treatment, public health officials, delivery of goods like food, medicines, fuels, farm products, printed materials, post or goods for export, transport operators to bring people to and from airports or bus terminals or to bring infected patients to pre-admission centres, public utility workers, public disaster workers, bank employees and government officials.

-Eateries, including eateries in malls, department stores, community malls, conference halls, hotels, airports, bus terminals, convenience stores and street food can open until 8pm for take-home or delivery only, with no dine-in services.

-Malls, department stores and community malls can open until 8pm to sell necessary consumer products, construction tools and for supermarkets, banks, postal offices, telecom business, maintenance services, medical services and vaccinations.

-Convenience stores, night markets, flea markets and walking streets can open until 8pm.

-Public parks, sports grounds, stadia and open-door exercise grounds can open until 8pm.

-Traditional Thai massage, spas, beauty and health clinics are closed. Barber’s shops and beauty salons can open as previously mandated.

-Public gathering of more than five people is prohibited.

-Inter-provincial travel is discouraged.

-Schools and other educational institutes for training courses remain closed.  

All the measures will be effective from Monday July 12th for two weeks.