11 July 2024

Thailand has abstained, as did China and India, in a vote on the UN resolution not to recognise the four regions of Ukraine which Russia has claimed, following referenda held late last month.

The UN General Assembly passed the resolution by a large majority on Wednesday, demanding that Moscow reverse course on its “attempted illegal annexation” of parts of Ukraine.

The results were 143 member states in favour, with five voting against and 35 abstentions. The countries voting against were Belarus, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Nicaragua, Russia and Syria.

The resolution, now passed in the Assembly, calls on all states, the UN and international organisations not to recognize any of Russia’s annexation claims and demands the immediate reversal of its annexation declaration.

On Monday, the UN rejected Russian efforts hold a secret ballot on the matter. A majority of member countries elected to hold the vote in public.

Thailand also abstained in a vote to suspend Russia from UN Human Rights Council in April this year, citing inclusivity. In March, Thailand did, however, vote to condemn Russia’s aggression in Ukraine.