Specific CCSA to be set up for Bangkok as fight against COVID-19 intensifies

The Centre for COVID-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) has intensified efforts to contain the continuing surge of COVID-19 infections in Bangkok and its peripherals by setting up an “area CCSA”, also headed by Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha.

CCSA spokesman Dr. Taweesin Visanuyothin said today (Tuesday) that a special meeting of the CCSA today also decided to set up similar centres in all 50 districts of Bangkok, to be led by district chief officers, tasked with monitoring and handling efforts to stem the spread of the disease, including screening and vaccination.

956 new infections were recorded in Bangkok and its suburbs today and 794 cases in the rest of the country.

30,011 people are still being treated in general and field hospitals. Of these, 1,009 are in a serious condition, with 311 of them on ventilators.

Dr. Taweesin said that the Emergency Operations Centre of Public Health Ministry has considered setting up field hospitals in Yellow Zone provinces, but is concerned that there may be insufficient medical personnel to man them, so health volunteers should be mobilized to help.

Those who are interested in volunteering can contact Line @Thaimedolunteer.

Meanwhile, travellers have been advised to check before starting their journeys, because restrictions have now been imposed in 53 out of Thailand’s 77 provinces, under which everyone entering these provinces will be subject to mandatory quarantine.

The 53 provinces are:

  • 15 provinces in the northern region, namely Chiang Rai, Chiang Mai, Tak, Nakhon Sawan, Nan, Phayao, Phichit, Phitsanuloke, Phetchabun, Phrae, Lamphun, Lampang, Sukhothai, Uttradit and Uthai Thani.
  • 6 provinces in central and eastern regions, namely Chai Nat, Nakhon Nayok, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Lop Buri, Sing Buri and Suphan Buri.
  • 20 provinces in northeastern region, namely Kalasin, Khon Kaen, Chaiyaphum, Nakhon Phanom, Nakhon Ratchasima, Bung Karn, Buri Ram, Maha Sarakham, Mukdahan, Yasothon, Roi-et, Loei, Si Sa Ket, Sakhon Nakhon, Surin, Nong Khai, Nong Bua Lamphu, Amnat Charoen, Udon Thani and Ubon Ratchathani.
  • 12 provinces southern region, namely Krabi, Chumpon, Trang, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Pattani, Phang-nga, Phatthalung, Ranong, Songkhla, Satun and Surat Thani.


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password