11 July 2024

The Pheu Thai party today (Friday) elected Mr. Sompong Amornvivat as its new leader, replacing Pol Lt-Gen Wirote Pao-in who had resigned along with the executive committee.

A party member since the founding of Thai Rak Thai, which was dissolved by the Constitutional Court several years ago, Mr. Sompong was an uncontested nomination for the leadership.  He received 389 votes at the general assembly of the party this morning.

As widely expected, Mr. Anudit Nakornthap was elected the party secretary-general, replacing Mr. Phumtham Vechayachai.

The meeting also elected 15 deputy leaders and seven deputy secretaries-general, with Anusorn Iamsa-ard as the spokesman.

The 15 deputy leaders include Kittirat na Ranong, Chusak Sirinil, Plodprasob Suraswadi, Samart Kaewmeechai, Kriang Kaltinan, Wisit Techathirawat, Cholanan Srikaew, Chavalit Wichayasut, Nakorn Machim, Mrs. Ladawan Wongsriwong, Yuttthapong Charatsathien, Paichit Sriworakhan, Vicharn Minchainan, Wittaya Buranasiri and Pol Lt-Col Somsak Chanthapoping.

The seven deputy secretaries-general are Powpoom Rojanasakul, Chirayu Huangsap, Ms. Khattiya Sawatdiphol, Chatuporn Charoenchua, Surachart Thienthong, Mrs. La-ong Tiyapairat and Saravuth Petpanomporn.