11 July 2024

Former Future Forward rising star Pita Limjaroenrat led 49 other MPs of the now defunct party, including dissident MP Kharom Polpornklang, to apply for membership of the Kao Klai (Move Forward) party today.

Party-list MP Kharom, who had earlier threatened to quit, said his last-minute change of mind came after talking with Pita, who is tipped to become the first leader of the new party.

Natthapong Ruangpanyawuthi, Bangkok MP for the Bang Khae constituency, party-list MP Kanchapong Chongsutthamanee, party-list MP Ongkarn Chaibutr, party-list MP Win Sutheerachai and party-list MP Chulapant Nonsrichai did not show up.

It was reported that Chulapant had already defected to the Chart Thai Pattana party, while Win did not offer any excuse for his absence today and it is not known whether he will join the Kao Klai party.

Natthapong is under self-quarantine after his recent return from Manila, but he has given assurances that he will join Kao Klai, while Kanchapong is sick, but promised to join.  Ongkarn is also sick, but has not yet promised to join.

Immediately after the dissolution of Future Forward party, by the Constitutional Court on February 21st, nine Future Forward MPs quickly joined the government coalition’s Bhumjaithai party.