11 July 2024

Progressive Movement leader Thanathorn Juangroongruangkit and former Move Forward party leader Pita Limjaroenrat are among eight defendants given suspended jail terms by the Pathumwan District Court this morning, after they were found guilty of staging a flash mob protest close to a palace without prior permission back in 2019.

The other six defendants were Nuttaa Mahattana, Parit Chiwarak, Thanawat Wongchai, Piyabutr Saengkanokkul, Pannika Wanich and Pairatthachote Chantharakachorn.

All eight defendants were charged with multiple offences by public prosecutors, ranging from staging a protest without prior permission at the Pathumwan skywalk (within 150m of a palace), disrupting the operations and services of the BTS train system, creating inconvenience for others using the skywalk and using loud speakers without permission. The protest occurred on December 14th, 2019.

The court sentenced all the defendants to four months in prison and ordered them to pay a fine of 11,200 baht for the illegal use of loud speakers. The jail terms were suspended for two years.