11 July 2024

The Pheu Thai party officially submitted its list of three prime ministerial candidates to the Election Commission today (Wednesday) at Bangkok City Hall.

They are Paetongtarn Shinawatra, the party’s advisory chief and head of the Pheu Thai “family”, former real estate tycoon and advisor to Paetongtarn, Srettha Thavisin, and Chaikasem Nitisiri, the party’s chief of strategy and political direction.

The list was submitted to the EC by Prasert Chanthararuangthong, the party’s secretary-general.

The party will hold a major campaign rally at the Thunder Dome stadium in Pak Kret district of Nonthaburi province, starting at 4pm today, at which they will publically unveil the names of its prime ministerial candidates.

A party source said that the candidates and “influencers” will walk along a red carpet to the campaign stage, where they will then give a press conference, to be followed by a photo session with its constituency and party-list candidates.

Party leader Cholnan Srikaew, veteran party member Chalerm Yubamrung and Nattawut Saikua, director of the Pheu Thai “family”, will lead the electioneering.

The party source said that the three prime ministerial candidates will deliver speeches as well.

Of the 54 parties which submitted the names of their party-list candidates to the EC yesterday, only 24 submitted their lists of prime ministerial candidates.

Among the well-known prime ministerial candidates are Prayut Chan-o-cha and Pirapan Salirathavibhaga of United Thai Nation Party, Anutin Charnvirakul of Bhumjaithai, Worawut Silpa-archa of Chart Thai Pattana, Jurin Laksanawisit of the Democrat party, Pita Limjaroenrat of the Move Forward party,  Gen Prawit Wongsuwan of Palang Pracharath, Pol Gen Sereepisuth Temeeyaves of the Thai Liberal party and the Thai Sang Thai party’s three candidates, Khunying Sudarat Keyuraphan, Suphan Mongkolsuthree and Sita Tiwari.