11 July 2024

The Palang Pracharat party has elected 17 new executives, increasing the executive committee membership to 34.

Before the secret vote, held during the general assembly of the party today (Saturday) at the Miracle Grand hotel, seven members of the executive committee also resigned.

The general assembly was co-chaired by General Prawit Wongsuwan, the party’s chief strategist and party leader Uttama Savanayana.

The 17 new executive committee members are:

Suriya Juangroongruangkit                          Somsak Thepsuthin                                        Santi Promphat

Suraphol Fong-ngarm                                    Cpt. Thammanat Promphao                        Wirat Rattanaseth

Suchart Chomklin                                            Boonsing Warinrak                                         Mrs. Prapaporn Asavahame

Niroth Sunthornlekha                                    Paibul Nititawa                                                 Samphan Mayusoh

Sakhonthee Patthiyakul                                Pai Link                                                                Samrith Taensap

Surachart Sribusakorn                                   Nipant Siridhorn

At the same event, the party appointed Mr. Anucha Nakasai and Mr. Paibul Nititawan as new deputy leaders, and changed its logo from a hexagonal to a circular design to convey a message of unity.

It was earlier reported that General Prawit had wanted to replace Mr. Sontirat Sontijirawong, the party’s secretary-general, but this was opposed by the Sammitr group, a powerful faction in the party led by Suriya Juangroongruangkit and Somsak Thepsuthin, both of whom were elected to the executive committee today.