Opposition submits motion to censure PM, 10 other ministers

Thailand’s opposition submitted a motion to House Speaker Chuan Leekpai today (Wednesday), to censure Prime Minister Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha and ten of his ministers, with the debate tentatively scheduled for July 18th to 22nd.

The motion was seconded by 182 opposition MPs.

In the motion, the opposition accuses the prime minister of the mismanagement of state affairs, violations of the Constitution and laws regarding ethical standards, negligence in the performance of his duties, allowing rampant corruption to take place, failure to implement policies stated in parliament, violations of human rights and the undermining of parliamentary democracy.

The other ten ministers to be censured include Deputy Prime Minister Prawit Wongsuwan, Interior Minister Anupong Paochinda, Digital Economy and Society Minister Chaiwut Thanakamanusorn, Deputy Finance Minister Santi Promphat, Labour Minister Suchart Chomklin, Transport Minister Saksayam Chidchob, Deputy Prime Minister and Commerce Minister Jurin Laksanawisit, Social Development and Human Security Minister Juti Krairiksh, Deputy Interior Minister Nipon Boonyamanee and Public Health Minister Anutin Charnvirakul.

Deputy Prime Minister Prawit is accused of being dishonest and defying the Constitution, while Interior Minister Anupong is accused of lacking good governance in national administration, abetting irregularities and being dishonest.

Dishonesty, nepotism, abetting irregularities, corruption and exploitation for ill-gotten gains are among the allegations lodged against the other ministers.

Opposition and Pheu Thai party leader Chonlanan Srikaew said he hopes the opposition will be able to muster enough votes to oust the prime minister in the subsequent no-confidence vote.


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password