11 July 2024

The Centre for COVID-19 Situation Administration has released more details on Thailand’s gradual reopening to tourists, with its COVID-19 “blue zones”, in which activities, similar to those in “green zone” provinces, can be undertaken.

The CCSA’s spokesperson, Dr. Taweesin Visanuyothin, announced that “blue zones” will allow people to travel freely, while businesses and activities can operate normally, under the control of the provincial communicable disease committees.

This means restaurants, shopping centres, hair and beauty salons, schools and sporting facilities in the “blue zones” can open normally. Activities which draw large crowds can be held with no more than 500 people, while pubs and entertainment venues are to remain closed. At the same time, COVID-19 preventive measures will remain in place.

Currently, the southern provinces of Phuket, Surat Thani (Samui, Pha-ngan and Tao Islands only), Phang-nga (Khao Lak and Yao Island only) and Krabi (Phi Phi islands, Ngai Island, Railay, Khlong Muang and Tub Kaek only) are the only areas reopened to vaccinated foreign tourists.

For the next phase of reopening, scheduled to start on November 1st, 10 provinces and areas will reopen as “blue zones”. They include Bangkok, Krabi (entire province), Phang-nga (entire province), Prachuap Khiri Khan (Hua Hin and Nong Gae only), Phetchaburi (Cha-am only, Chonburi (Pattaya, Bang Lamung, Jom Thien, Bang Sare only), Ranong (Koh Phayam only), Chiang Mai (Muang, Mae Rim, Mae Taeng and Doi Tao districts only), Loei (Chiang Khan districtonly) and Buri Ram (Muang district only).

From December 1st, the 20 provinces to reopen are Chiang Rai, Mae Hong Son, Lampoon, Phrae, Nong Khai, Sukhothai, Phetchabun, Pathum Thani, Ayutthaya, Samut Prakan, Trat, Rayong, Khon Kaen, Nakhon Ratchasima, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Trang, Pattalung, Songkhla, Yala, and Narathiwat.

From January 1st, 2022, 13 border provinces, such as Surin, Sra Kaew, Chanthaburi, Tak, Nakhon Phanom, Mukdahan, Bueng Kan, Udon Thani, Ubon Ratchathani, Nan, Kanchanaburi, Ratchaburi, and Satun, will reopen.