21 May 2024

Three Seri Ruam Thai MPs and two from the opposition Pheu Thai party have broken ranks to vote for Deputy Prime Minister Prawit Wongsuwan, giving him more approval votes than Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha and the four other ministers.

Government chief whip Wirat Rattanaseth told the media, after the vote this morning, that all six ministers received more votes than expected, especially General Prawit who received five additional votes from the Opposition, two from Pheu Thai MPs and three from Seri Ruam Thai MPs.

He admitted that he had no idea why the opposition MPs voted for General Prawit, saying that it was beyond his control.

Mr. Wirat offered an apology to Deputy Agriculture Minister Thammanat Prompao, who received the fewest votes.

The voting was:

  • Prime Minister Prayut 272:49 (2 abstentions)
  • DPM Prawit 277:50 (2 abstentions)
  • DPM Wissanu Krea-ngarm 272:54 (2 abstentions)
  • Foreign Minister Don Pramudwinai 272:55 (2 abstentions)
  • Deputy Agriculture Minister Thammanat 269:55 (7 abstentions)

Before the House reconvened this morning to vote, Democrat MP Sathit Wongnongtoei told a news conference that Democrat MPs met last night to consider how they should vote today.

He said the meeting discussed Thammanat’s educational background in detail, and his reported drug related conviction in Australia.  A vote was taken and the result was 24 MPs would vote for Thammanat against 17 who objected.

Sathit said that the 17 of them voted reluctantly though.