Ex-PM Chuan to join the race for House speakership

The Democrat party has nominated former prime minister and party chief advisor Chuan Leekpai as its candidate in the race to become Speaker of the House today (Saturday).
Mr. Prin Panitchpakdi, an executive committee member, said on his Facebook page today that Mr. Leekpai’s candidacy was approved by the executive committee.
Chuan Leekpai will run against two other candidates, namely Mr. Sompong Amornvivat representing the Pheu Thai-led coalition of seven parties and Mr. Suchart Tancharoen of the Palang Pracharat party.
Core members of the seven pro-democracy parties, including Pheu Thai secretary-general Phumtham Wechayachai, Future Forward party leader Thanathorn Juangroongruangkit, Seri Ruam Thai party leader Sereepisut Taemeyavej, Prachachart party leader Wan Muhamad Noor Matha, Phua Chart party leader Songkram Kitlertpairoj, Palang Puangchon Thai party leader Nikhom Boonviset and former New Economics party leader Mingkwan Saengsuwan, met today to discuss their common strategy in the vote for the House speaker’s post tomorrow.
The seven parties command 244 votes in the House and have reportedly agreed to vote for Mr. Sompong if the Democrat party decides to join the Palang Pracharat’s coalition.
Chachoengsao MP Suchart Tancharoen said Thursday that the Palang Pracharat party would nominate him as their candidate.
Meanwhile, the Senate today elected former National Legislative Assembly president Pornpetch Wichitcholachai as Senate speaker at its first meeting at the TOT Company’s conference hall, which is serving as the temporary parliament while the new parliament building is under construction.
Mr. Pornpetch was the only candidate nominated by colleague Mr. Suwaphan Tanyuwattana.
The Senate also voted General Singsoek Singprai and Mr. Supachai Somcharoen as the first and second Senate deputy speakers.
In the meantime, Chart Thai Pattana party leader Ms. Kanchana Silpa-archa announced today that the party had decided to join the Palang Pracharat’s coalition. The party has 10 MPs.


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password