6 June 2024

Several senior Democrat party members have now tendered their resignations, following the departure of former Democrat party leader Abhisit Vejjajiva on Saturday.

In addition to veteran Democrat party MPs Sathit Wongnongtaey and Sathit Pitutecha, other ex-MPs following in Abhisit’s footsteps include Panit Vikitset, Anchalee Vanich Thepbutr, Onanong Kanjanachusak, Vittayen Muttamara, Thanawat Phukaoluan and Suran Chantarapitak.

Viboon Srisophon, a party member since December 22, 1998, will also be leaving the party.

Abhisit announced his resignation during the party’s general meeting on Saturday, which was being held to elect the new party leadership.