11 July 2024

The cabinet today rejected the CCSA’s proposal to postpone the four public holidays in May.

The official holidays are May 1st Labour Day, May 4th Coronation Day, May 6th Visakha Bucha Day and May 11th the Royal Ploughing Ceremony, or Framers’ Day.

The cabinet decided not to postpone the holidays, but advised the public to stay at home and refrain from travelling out of their provinces, fearing that they may take extended leave, from May 1st to 6th, to vacation upcountry.

Officials have been instructed by the cabinet to enforce lockdown measures strictly to discourage travel.