11 July 2024

Thailand’s Centre for COVID-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) has temporarily suspended all arrivals of non-Thai citizens from India, Pakistan and Bangladesh, in an escalated effort to prevent the spread of a new COVID-19 variant into Thailand.

Arrivals of Thai nationals from these three South Asian countries are allowed, but they are subject to 21-day mandatory state quarantine, instead of 14.

The tougher restrictions come after seven Indian nationals, who arrived in Thailand on April 17th among 149 passengers on Air India flight AI0332, were found to be infected and were sent to hospitals for treatment.

The report of the infected arrivals triggered widespread criticism of the Thai government on social media for its policy of opening the country to arrivals from India, despite COVID-19 infectionsthere surging exponentially to over 300,000 cases per day, due a more contagious variant of the virus.

For Thai nationals who want to return home, they must register first at Thai embassies or consular offices.

The Thai government allows 11 groups of foreigners, from various countries, to enter Thailand. These include investors, businessmen, those who have Thai families, hold work permits and those who are seeking medical treatment in Thailand, but not for COVID-19 infection.

Meanwhile, the Office of Civil Aviation of Thailand has denied a report on social media that a chartered flight from India,carrying a group of wealthy Indian citizens, was allowed to land in Thailand.