6 June 2024

The current Minister of Higher Education, Science, Research and Innovations, Anek Laothammatas was, today (Sunday), elected uncontested as the new leader of the Action Coalition for Thailand Party (Ruam Palang Prachachart Thai), succeeding Tawatchai na Takuathung.

The party’s general meeting also appointed a new executive committee which comprises:

  • Associate Professor Duangrith Benjathikul Chairoongruang as secretary-general.
  • Chuthtas Laothammatas, the treasurer.
  • Danut Tantherdthit, the registrar.
  • Patcharinruja Chantharonasanont, Ms. Yodkwan Chumwara and Phirasut Chantharanuwat as executive committee members.

After his appointment as the new party leader, Dr. Anek said that they aim to become a small to medium sized party and he will do his best to lead the party and to prepare for the next election, in about a year from now.

The party’s founders, among them Suthep Thaugsuban, and original executive committee members consist mostly of core leaders and followers of the now defunct People’s Democratic Reform Committee, which spearheaded the prolonged mass protests in 2013-14 in an effort to topple the government of Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra, which was finally ousted in a coup, led by then Army Commander-in-Chief and current Thai prime minister General Prayut Chan-o-cha on May 22nd, 2014.