11 July 2024

Fifty-five former MPs of the Future Forward party will join the Kao Klai (Leap Forward), this week.

The new Kao Klai party, formerly known as the Ruam Pattana Chart Thai, was registered with the Election Commission (EC) earlier last week.  Ruam Pattana Chart Thai was registered on May 1, 2014 with 2,690 members, four branch offices and representatives in 13 constituencies.

Mr. Pitha Limjaroenrat, a core leader of the former MPs of the dissloved Future Forward party, said today that the Kao Klai party will continue with the ideology and mission of the Future Forward party.


“We will stand by the people, stand by democracy, stand against the prolongation of power of the military dictatorship and push for a progressive agenda,” said Pitha, as he joined other former Future Forward MPs.

The Future Forward party was disbanded by the Constitutional Court on February 21st, after it was found to have violated the Political Party Act by taking a 190.2 million baht loan from its then leader, Thanathorn Juangroongruangkit.  All the party’s executive committee members, including Secretary-general Piyabutr Saengkanokkul and spokeswoman Pannika Wanich, were banned from politics for ten years.

Pitha is expected to be the leader of Kao Klai party.