11 July 2024

About 40 former and active MPs from various parties showed up at the newly-renovated head office of the Bhumjaithai Party today (Friday) to join formally.

They were from the Palang Pracharath, Pheu Thai, Move Forward, Thai Economic and People Progressive parties. Among them were Chakkrapan Pornnimit and Srihadet Kraikupt of Palang Pracharath and Niyom Changpinit from Pheu Thai Party.

Srihadet Kraikupt was accompanied by his younger sister, former Palang Pracharath MP Pareena, who lost her parliamentary status and was banned from politics for life. She was found guilty of gross ethical misconduct by the Supreme Court’s Criminal Division for Political Office Holders in April this year for encroachment on 113.76 hectares of state land in Ratchaburi Province, which was partially turned into a poultry farm.

The new party members were welcomed by Anutin Charnvirakul and Saksayam Chidchob, Bhumjaithai party leader and party secretary-general, respectively. They were each presented with a blue T-shirt, the colour of the party.

Three MPs resigned their parliamentary posts yesterday, reducing the total number of sitting MPs to 439. They are Kanok Wongtrangan of the Democrat Party and Suchat Usaha and Somchai Wisnuwong of the Palang Pracharath parties.

The number of MPs required to make a quorum for a House meeting now stands at 220.