6 June 2024

The Future Forward party’s extraordinary assembly has resolved to expel four rebel MPs, known as “cobras”, for their refusal to follow party resolutions.

The party voted 250:5 to expel the dissident MPs. There were six abstentions.

The assembly’s expulsion resolution will be tabled at the party’s executive committee meeting for finalization tomorrow, and it is believed that the decision will be upheld.

The four MPs facing exile are Ms. Srinuan Boonlue, constituency MP for Chiang Mai, Chanthaburi’s Constituency 2 MP Charoek Sri-on, Chanthaburi’s Constituency 1 MP Pol Lt-Col Thanapat Kittiwongsa and Chon Buri’s Constituency 7 MP Ms. Kavinnart Takee.

The four MPs were accused of defying opposition resolutions by voting in support of the Government on several issues, such as the budget bill and the opposition motion to investigate the impacts of junta’s orders and executive orders issued under Section 44 of the Constitution.